New URSI Award at GASS 2014: the “Santimay Basu“ prize - deadline 2013 Oct 31.

To the Presidents of the Member Committees

To the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Commissions
To the Former Laureates of URSI Awards


Ghent, 19 August 2013


Dear Colleague,


On 12 March 2013 we already called upon you for nominations for the five URSI awards that will be presented at the Opening Ceremony of the URSI General Assembly and Scientific Symposium in Beijing, China on August 16th, 2014.

In the past few months Dr. Sunanda Basu has generously proposed to establish an early career award in remembrance of her late husband Dr. Santimay Basu who recently passed away. Dr. Sunanda Basu and her husband have been closely involved in URSI over many decades. The URSI Board has accepted the kind offer of Dr. Sunanda Basu and would like to present for the first time the “Santimay Basu“ prize at the General Assembly and Scientific Symposium in Beijing. A call for nominations separate from the other awards is therefore needed on this occasion.

The rules governing the “Santimay Basu“ prize is included for your information (App. 1). Nominations for this newly established award are now expected.

As with the other awards, the applications will be evaluated by a group of experts familiar with the nominee's field of expertise. We invite you to suggest names of possible referees. A nomination form is included for your possible use. Please feel free to make additional copies or to download extra forms from the URSI homepage.

To summarise, the concrete steps are as follows:

(1)    You can submit one name for the “Santimay Basu“ prize.

(2)    Please submit your nomination to the URSI Secretariat by October 31st, 2013. Any delay would endanger the tight time schedule which governs the selection process.


                                                                                                  Sincerely yours,


                                                                                                  Prof. P. Lagasse

                                                                                                  Secretary General


cc. Prof. F. Lefeuvre, Chairman of the Awards Panel